Fox and Bow

I didn’t think I would get out of my pajamas over the weekend, it was the perfect weather for sleeping in and lazing about and that we did, but then we started getting hungry… TimmyC suggested that we go out for brunch and I was eager to take him to Fox and Bow over in Farrer.

The bustling cafe had both indoor and outdoor seating and we were luckily enough to find space at the end of a long table. I was excited to browse through the menu and see the drinks on the chalkboard; the drink names such as ‘Ron Weasley’, ‘Mike Wazoski’ and ‘that’s oatstanding’ made me giggle.2015/01/img_8526.jpgSo much to be tempted by in the cake cabinet.2015/01/img_8527.jpgHere is the menu- small and precise, what would you have chosen?2015/01/img_8525.jpgI just love the decor of this cafe, so funky and laid back.2015/01/img_8529.jpgLarge flat white2015/01/img_8528.jpgEarl grey doughnut ($3.80?). Not my favourite Nookie doughnut flavour, the Earl grey taste was virtually non-existent but TimmyC just really liked dipping the doughnut in the cream that it was served with.2015/01/img_8531.jpgShake it off! vanilla infused honey, malt balls and ice cream ($5.50?). I love the name of this, it was partially why I chose it actually. I could really taste the malt and sometimes the ice cream clogged my straw but it wasn’t the best milkshake that I’ve had.2015/01/img_8532.jpgBig Kids pancakes buttermilk pancakes, raspberries, hazelnuts, maple syrup & caramel popcorn ($15.00). It wasn’t until I was comparing the look of TimmyC’s pancakes to a photo we saw on Instagram did we notice that they had given us strawberries and not raspberries; pecans and not hazelnuts. Maybe the substitutions were because they ran out of the ingredients but we didn’t get around to asking because we had eaten half of it before we noticed. It was really nice either way, I found it interesting how perfectly round and thick the pancakes were. Towards the end, the bottom pancake was soaked in syrup and getting a bit too sweet, maybe this would have been nicer with syrup on the side?2015/01/img_8537.jpgThis is how we roll smoked bacon, 2 free range eggs, house made bbq relish, potato hash, melted jack cheese & toasted brioche bun ($9.90). A breakfast bun with all my favourite things! I happen to cut this roll in half for photo and sharing purposes before I spotted a short hair under my bacon and alerted the waitress who whisked my plate away. The owner (?) then came to us and was very apologetic and a new roll was made for me very quickly. He came over again to apologise and offered us both free coffees which was really nice of him. Despite a small wait for my second roll, I really enjoyed my heavily savoury breakfast as it balanced out all the sweetness of the pancakes.2015/01/img_8540.jpgThe essential cross-section photo.2015/01/img_8543.jpgI know I’m a slow eater and TimmyC having a head start to his breakfast didn’t help. A big table of 8 was heading into the cafe and we were asked to shuffle down a seat and even with only a few more bites to go, I was told not to rush at all. I didn’t mind moving (it was only one seat down), I was just glad that we all fit.

Complimentary small flat white. TimmyC happen to mention that he really liked the coffee here as I was finishing off my breakfast and I asked why he didn’t mention it when he was drinking his first coffee, but he said it was because this second one tasted better.

The second coffee looked a lot better too.2015/01/img_8545.jpgDespite a few little dramas which might have annoyed me at any other cafe, I really like the set up, the vibe of the staff and how this little gem is tucked away in the suburbs. I definitely much prefer this place compared to the previous establishment which made it onto my short list of ‘will not return’.

This is a family run business who are experienced with food but this is their first venture of running their own cafe and they are having fun doing it. I’m excited to come back and try more of their menu and use it as a trendy meet up spot with southside friends.
There is a funky graffitied wall outside.2015/01/img_8536.jpg
An awesome fellow blogger Freak Biscuit also went to Fox and Bow recently, see her post here.

Venue: Fox and Bow

Address4 Farrer Pl Farrer, ACT

Phone: 0422108713

Websitehttp://www.foxandbow.com.au/
Fox and Bow on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Fox and Bow

Leave a Reply

